1 Broke Girl

When I was younger, I wanted to be a pilot but that dream went right out of the window when I was told I needed to study Physics and I was also told people with bad eye vision cannot make the squad. I do not enjoy science as a subject so there was no way I was going to sit in its long classes. Bad eye vision? I know a few pilots who wear spectacles. Or am I assuming I have seen them wear them. I bet they wear contact lenses behind those sexy aviator shades. With a little push I could have done it but my mother thought I would make a better journalist than pilot. She just assumed I will make a better career sitting on TV looking pretty reporting the evening news. To be quite honest, I never thought of any other profession after that. I just capitalized on what I was good at along the way. Now, I organize events, do event décor, take photographs, and work long hours supporting the Head of Supply and Head of Marketing for Ericsson in the Region of Sub-Saharan Africa. But the hardest part of it all is managing my staff. They drive me crazy!!! I have never experienced anything like this in my life! Let me not get started on them. It will turn this blog post from the recap of an enjoyable plane ride to a venting essay on why I won’t let my workers interrupt my vision with their every attempt to destroy me. There are these two in particular. Ok, I promised not to go on about them.

So what’s in store for you today? How I would have made one heck of an amazing pilot, how much I enjoyed my Virgin Atlantic flight to London and my time with Nicki in the almost empty cabin. I stayed loyal to British Airways until I needed a ticket two days before flying out to go see my brother Robair, who had seriously injured himself after his hand, got trapped in the moving bike chain. He is an artist, illustrator, animator, producer and that was his right hand and his index finger got cut off. I had to go and see him as fast as I could. Nothing was stopping me. Not even the BA loyalty. The travel agent said, try Virgin, they are good. Their premier economy is better than BA’s. Hmmm, could that be true? I asked, how much for Upper Class? Wow! Almost GHS 2,000 difference. Maybe next time. It wasn’t worth it for a 6 days trip. Well not just as yet anyway. Off on this adventure I go.

Usually, as soon as I am done buckling myself up in my seat, I say a prayer and start to dose off. I often fall asleep even before we take off. That day was different. I walked into the cabin, collected my first glass of apple juice as we waited for the rest of the passengers to board. It was 10 in the morning on a Monday, Too early to call anyone so instead I pulled out Nicki. There were only 5 of us in the cabin so I could snap away with my flash lights bouncing around as much as I pleased. No one cared. The flight attendant came back almost every 10 minutes offering her services. At 10:30 am, I was on my 3rd glass. That is unusual for my mornings unless I went for the very much enjoyable buffet breakfasts. She said “sorry I am going to seem annoying today. I only have 5 of you to look after”. I smiled and thought to myself, she best not disturb my sleep. It looks like it will be a very comfortable ride.

<


It looks like everyone is on board. I say to Nicki, I need to stow you away for take-off but I will soon get you. I need shots of Accra from up here. I have never taken a long haul flight at that time of the morning so it was new to me. Lol. BA leaves at night!

So here are some of the photos I took. If you are not an airplane lover like me, you might not be interested. If you are a foodie though, I have something in store for you. I am sure you will quickly scroll down to the food part. Admittedly, every human being loves to eat. At least there is something you like, even if you have an eating disorder. So see you at the food part after the engineering pictures.

First of all, I never go without my companions. My camera, my headphones, and my BB. I see a red light. It is Zinnia sending me BB messages. We often have a lot to talk about and this time it was her Virgin Atlantic experience. She was telling me about her time in Upper Class in 2011. She is such a show off lol. Snap snap snap!!!
I see the independence square, I see the stadium, and I see the ocean!!! Maybe this is when I close my eyes. Oh I can’t, the clouds look so pretty!!!

 

Let’s get comfortable with this comfort control and listen to Uncle Richard give his speech. Hey if a president of the United States of America can be called Uncle Obama by a Ghanaian, I am sure it is fine to call one of the most successful men in this world Uncle Richard as opposed to Sir Richard Charles Nicholas Branson, the English business magnate, best known as the founder and chairman of the Virgin Group. I admire successful people. Especially those who encourage others and never look down on the less privileged. I have met some Ghanaian families who probably only have an equivalent of 1% of the Branson worth yet are paranoid that people only want to be around them because of their worth. Amusing!

I am sure you are wondering by now how I have a pilot uniform on in some of the photos. Is that how I dress when I am getting on a plane? If I couldn’t be the pilot, I can at least dress like one. Ha ha ha. I am just kidding. The photos of me in uniform were taken on a different day by Nii Okai Djarbeng of Lightville Photography for a TV concept me and two other friends of mine are developing. We will be interviewing and celebrating successful African women. It is a show to Inspire, Empower and Change women. For the photo shoot we each had to choose a profession and of course I chose to be a Pilot and an Engineer. I will leave details of this out for another blog post. If it is something you would love to read about, come back soon and it will be here, juicily waiting for you. Int he mean time, here are a few photos from the shoot.


Now there comes the food. When my order was delivered, the first person who came to mind was Jay. If you have been here before, you should know Jay by now. If not, she is a foodie who blogs about food. The Mukase Chic. Mukase means Kitchen in Twi, the language of the Akan people of Ghana. Excuse the glass of white wine. It seemed as though sleep wasn’t ready to pop up so I needed something more relaxing than Apple or Cranberry juice. I was so fascinated with the Salt and Pepper Shakers. They were little airplanes! Aren’t they cute?

 

I am sure you wondered why I named this blog post 1 Broke Girl. I used to love watching Will and Grace many years ago. So when I saw Michael Patrick King as the writer for the new US sitcom 2 Broke Girls showing, I just had to watch it. By the way, Michael wrote Sex and The City too so you know this one is also going to be another hit. This one is not so much about sex but rather two waitresses hoping to open their own restaurant. Who comes to mind again? Jay!!! Ok my whole plane ride wasn’t about thoughts of Jay. I also wondered if I would find a nice pair of Gold or Red shoes to buy whilst I am in London for Erin’s Engagement in Nigeria when I get back. The blog post before this one was about that experience. If you have a minute to spare, you can read that too. It is titled Ore – Ife – Igbeyawo – Ayo, the day one of my best friends got married.

I also imagined all the food places I would go to in the 6 days that I am there. Wagamama, Busaba Eathai, Zen Garden, Burger King, Greggs, Pizza Hut, McDonalds, Starbucks, and it went on and on! Trying to fit all that in in addition to my mother’s good cooking was surely going to guarantee me a 10 kilos increase. I hit 6 kg. 1 a day and I didn’t even get to eat from all these places. Sadly or fortunately. It depends on how you want to look at it.

Next was an episode of The Simpsons. Another show I love. And guess which episode it was. “The Food Wife” where Marge starts a food blog and reviews restaurants. Who comes to mind again? My lips are sealed. Hang on a second. Did Virgin Atlantic do a background check on my interests before letting me board this flight?

With all these entertainment, food, photographs and 3 hours nap, I woke up to the sunset beyond the almost dark clouds. What a beauty. Nicki where are you? Yay! Its 5:47 pm. We are almost there!!! I get to see Michel, my older brother at the airport. He is the only one who knows I am coming. I am going to surprise Robair, Mum and Dad who gets there the next day. I will feel the autumn breeze on my face. I love autumn: The leaves, the weather, the sky, October. And both my brothers are born in October. Awesome!

Stow away your belongings, buckle your seat belt, it is time for landing. Its bye for now until my next blog post.

To see these photos on facebook, go to: http://www.facebook.com/ThinkMahogany?ref=hl#!/media/set/?set=a.529718670394595.126162.144325955600537&type=3

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. beautiful and interesting read this morning….

    Like

  2. B pls send me your contact details. Miss you xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

