Mahogany Weddings: Golda And Kobe

I can’t believe its been a year already since we were running in the rain on Golda and Kobe’s Wedding Day.

Being part of this wedding brought on Saturday 20th June 2015 me great joy. Golda is one of my closest friends.  We met she was planning her cousin  Efua’s wedding. A wedding I styled which has placed a lasting friendship in my life.

IMG_8711

When they say it is a small world, it truly is! I met Kobe in 2007 in England.  He was introduced to me by one of my other friends. I didn’t Know Golda then.  We exchanged a simple hello and that was it until Golda introduced him to me in 2014 as the man she is going to get married to in a year. I was happy for my friend.

IMGL1326IMGL1332IMGL1567IMGL1632IMGL1642IMGL1716IMGL1706IMGL1719IMGL1766IMGL1839

It brings me so much simple joy when I see two hearts in love and happy with each other.  Life isn’t lived until life has love in it.

The day begun with a traditional engagement ceremony where the beautiful Mahogany Bride wore a Red Kente outfit by Aika.  Her natural hair done up beautifully by Black Cotton and face beat to the tee by Luxe D’Visage.

Hours later, was time for the wedding.  Golda was adamant that her event was simple.  She is a simple girl with a heart of gold. And she got her wish.

Her best friend Rhoda created a beautiful bird cage for her to compliment her Midi White and Red Dress by She by Bena. IMGL2078

IMGL1979

The first time Maame was a flower girl was at her parents’ Efua and Kwame’s Wedding.  She was 2 years old then. Its crazy how fast they grow!

IMGL2119

MC Kabutey, one of my favourite MCs was the MC at the wedding.  He stood in as the best man to the groom who couldn’t hold back tears when his wife was walking down the aisle.

IMGL2136IMGL2160IMGL2223

I asked Golda where they met and she said, “we met at a friend’s house nine years ago.  I was helping my auntie who is a caterer serve at an event and he was one of the guests.  It was in New Achimota, Accra to be precise.  It wasn’t love at first site.  We have been in and out of a 9 year relationship after that day.  It has been a rough journey but Kobe proposed in December 2014 and I said yes.”

Of course I asked how he proposed and she said “He simply said Doe lets get married.  I was not surprised, I saw the question coming.  I knew he was the one at the time because Kobe never talks about marriage and when he asked if I would marry him, I knew it was time.  After 9 years of friendship, I think I made a good decision.”

IMGL2245IMGL2268

I was so happy seeing my friend look so beautiful and happy.  I truly wish them a lifetime of joyous moments.

Golda said Kobe’s patience for her has kept them.  The most cherished moment for her was when he flew to Ghana to surprise her on her 30th Birthday.

In her own words she said, “Our wedding day was the best day of my life. It was emotional, meaningful and above all it was fun and joyful. I would do it all over again tomorrow if I could.”

IMGL2291

After the wedding, Golda would say, her wedding was filled with showers of blessing!

IMG_8702

I asked her to describe her wedding in her own words and she said “best wedding party ever with the best MC/Bestman and best DJs.

IMG_8703

Now this old man had more dance moves than anyone at the wedding.  He was very happy  to see his daughter get married to the love of her life.  I really like Mr. Hudson Ablordeppey.  An old man with swag. Very calm and caring.  We had DJ PM and DJ Fred on the disks.

IMGL1910IMGL1911IMG_0250

The set up was simple. Gold, White and Red.

Now, the cake was daring!  A Red Wedding Cake by Dream Desserts Ghana.

IMGL2095

All of our friends were there to support Golda Doe Ablordeppey and Kwabena Owusu-Banahene on this beautiful day.

IMG_8695

IMGL2691IMG_8707

IMG_8709

We had an amazing time. Great food from Royal Fingers.  The rain outside couldn’t stop us!  The newly weds changed into their All-star converse s for more dancing feet comfort.

IMGL2759

Thank you Holison Concept for such beautiful photos.

Waiting to share the Video Trailer from Ripple Effect with you 🙂

Copyright THINK | MAHOGANY 
All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this blog, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from Think | Mahogany

Leave a Reply

