Saturday Turn Up

So today I am a wedding guest. Exciting!!!
LES AND POKS-41 LES AND POKS-40
LES AND POKS-42The last time I was an invited guest to a wedding which I actually had the time to attend was on 18th October 2014.  KOD and Ophelia’s Wedding.

I remember the date so well because that is my brother’s birthday.  Just a month away from a year. I am never free to attend events on weekends but when my childhood buddy Leslie tells me “Debbie you cant miss my wedding. Make sure you don’t miss my wedding. And make sure you look nice!” I knew I was in for it.

I missed his traditional engagement last weekend due to our staff induction, training, service and strategy review. Today I am determined to be that guest and look at the event from the guest’s point of view, not the planner, stylist or coordinator.
I remember seeing Leslie and Pokuaa on Christmas eve of 2013 and I said to Leslie, make sure you marry this girl. Today I am a guest at their wedding. God is faithful!

LES AND POKS-8 What to wear, what to wear? I sound like my friend Frimpomaa who is in this dilemma every single day. She says that when she wakes up every day! I just throw on what I see as long as I am comfortable in it. But today, I am not the one going to be running around so there is room for a fitted dress and high heel shoes. And for sure, I must add a fascinator, which my friend Rhoda made for me. I wanted something so dramatic that I wouldn’t be able to have it on in the car and the person behind me at the wedding will have issues seeing past my head.  But I remembered when God said love your neighbour.  So lets keep it simple.
LES AND POKS-7Looks like I am going to be late. I have an event order for tomorrow and logistics is getting complicated because client wants to provide own truck to save cost. The staff in charge’s phone is off so I can’t get through to him. The admin lady isn’t answering her phone so I can’t even get through to her for any information. Whoever said running your own business is a walk in the park was running a dead business. My workers give me more blood pressure than anything else.

The Teshie Township are having their festival so the traffic is immense from road blocks/diversions and that’s my only route to the venue. There goes my plans of being on time. Hopefully even though they said 1:30 they are making room for late comers. That’s the Ghanaian mentality right there. Always late and the guests who will be on time will be left waiting and agitated.

Cruising in my car wearing my Mama Rho Fascinator and Cinderella Body Hugging dress talking to my Dr. Tash whiling away traffic commenting on the Homowo festivities as I am driving past.

LES AND POKS-9I got to the wedding cocktail hour just before photos. So I quickly got a shot of the couple and started mingling. It was great seeing old friends from Morning Star School where I used to go for summer classes during my Junior Secondary School education.

I met a Mahogany Bride Lisboa , other people I have met before.  Abokuma of Purple Twirl who is coordinating the event, Edna of Essence who did the decor, met Frances of Jam Jar who did the cocktails bar and Mimi of Funsations who was in charge of the Hen Night prior to the wedding. Who said people who all worked in the events industry in Ghana couldn’t get along? Well some anyway 😁

LES AND POKS-18 LES AND POKS-15

LES AND POKS-22 LES AND POKS-16

Mimi went through the trouble of finding out which table I was on and found me my table. Grabbed my seat on table 12 and got talking with Emmanuel who I knew from Morning Star, Nana Serwa who said I was supposed to do her wedding 5 years ago but I had travelled and Kofi.

LES AND POKS-25 LES AND POKS-31

The food from Labadi Beach Hotel always A One! Abokuma of Purple Twirl got things moving nicely.  Lamie made the Wedding Cake which looked gorgeous.  Edna did an amazing job on the decor.  Talata created the mood with lighting.  I was in all photos and videos ha ha ha. That’s what happens when all the photographers and videographers are your friends. Kwaku Zee of Ripple Effect on video, Abi of Photography by Abi supported by Steve Morris and Forson. Kabutey was the MC who had us singing along to Bob Marley’s everything’s gonna be alright and finally DJ Mensah on the discs. It was happy moments every moment.

LES AND POKS-35 LES AND POKS-34 LES AND POKS-52 LES AND POKS-29

The groom gave an amazing speech. The best I have heard to date and it isn’t because he is my friend. Everyone on my table agreed with me.

LES AND POKS-38

LES AND POKS-39 LES AND POKS-14 LES AND POKS-24

LES AND POKS-44Oh and there was a game Kabutey and Abokuma put together and the winning table will be picked out based on best message. Every table was supposed to write a message for the couple and this is what we came up with on table 12.

And table 12 won the best message. When there is a creative person on the table, you are bound to win! he he he…The Lipstick Team!

The bride and her bridal party gave the groom a dance show. I absolutely loved the choices of music they choreographed to. And they got the dance moves to the tea.  I can’t wait to see that video on Instagram.  I am sure Kwaku Zee will put something us.  If not, I will have to pay him a visit just to watch it again.

I was soooo irritated by how guests won’t sit still so we could all enjoy the performances, the dances, and everything else. They were all around the dancefloor with their phones and cameras. I was sure I was not going to be seen as one of them. I guess Think Mahogany are mean coordinators. That wouldn’t have been accepted at our event.

The groom surprised the bride with beautiful messages to go with specific songs through the event. That was sweet!  It became a party! I got on the dancefloor but not for long. My high heels aren’t friendly. Shame on the devil ha ha ha.

It sure felt good not having to pack up after. Edna please forgive me. And it felt good not being the one to keep things in order. Sorry Abokuma.

There isn’t anything I wouldn’t change about this wedding. I was a pleased wedding guest. My Saturday turn up was worth it!

LES AND POKS-30LES AND POKS-16

LES AND POKS-53 LES AND POKS-56 LES AND POKS-27

LES AND POKS-10Congrats Leslie and Pokuaa

Love is all you need!

Saturday 5th September 2015

xoxoxoxoxoxox

Leave a Reply

