A Jar Of Blessings

3414cc6edfbf287e5b41773b5151e126Last year, I was told that I should start the new year with an empty jar and fill it with notes about good things that happen and then on the last day of the year, empty it and see what awesome stuff happened in the year.

I went out and bought myself a beautiful jar but never dropped a note in it.  It is not because good things haven’t happened to me but simply because I forget to write it down and put it in the jar.

No morning goes by that I don’t say Thank You to God.  I thank Him for the gift of life each and every morning.  And in my daily prayers, I thank Him for every single thing that I go through.  Both good and sad.

Monday 9th May 2016

rom-8_28

How many know that God is able to do exceedingly, abundantly above all that you can ask of Him?

God is able to do just what He says He will do. He is going to fulfil every promise to you.

Don’t give up on God, because He won’t give up on you!

This summarises everything that I am feeling today.

Today marks 7 very long years since I relocated to Ghana after 11 wonderful, amazing, happy and short years in the UK.

The Bible teaches us that 7 represents Completeness and Perfection.

Today I celebrate the faithfulness and greatness of my God.

My God is awesome, He can move a mountains, Keep me in the valley, Hide me from the rain.

My God is awesome, Heals me when I’m broken, Strength where I’ve been weakened, Forever He will reign.

As I thank God today, I thank all the people that I have found a friend in along the way.

God bless you all!

4661007860

Psalm 138

1 I will praise you, LORD, with all my heart; before the “gods” I will sing your praise. 
2 I will bow down toward your holy temple and will praise your name for your unfailing love and your faithfulness, for you have so exalted your solemn decree that it surpasses your fame. 
3 When I called, you answered me; you greatly emboldened me. 
4 May all the kings of the earth praise you, LORD, when they hear what you have decreed. 
5 May they sing of the ways of the LORD, for the glory of the LORD is great. 
6 Though the LORD is exalted, he looks kindly on the lowly; though lofty, he sees them from afar. 
7 Though I walk in the midst of trouble, you preserve my life. You stretch out your hand against the anger of my foes; with your right hand you save me. 
8 The LORD will vindicate me; your love, LORD, endures forever— do not abandon the works of your hands.

Wednesday 20th July 2016

2016-07-19-PHOTO-00000254

rkd-5

Remi and I

Eleven and counting and Remi is the only boy amongst them all.

In my jar of blessings are the names of my official 11 God Children.  Last month I was sure there were 10 of them until this week when I was yet again blessed with another. So as of today, I have 11 Golden God Children.  I can’t seem to put the lid on my jar of blessings.

26f5a40f780d7cad009ff28020590775Miss. Esi Dadzie – born in August 2002

Miss. Eden Maame Duchess Adu-Mfum – born in July 2005

Miss. Aaliyah Safari Anwar – born in September 2008

Miss. Amirah Iman Anwar – born in September 2009

Miss. Nevaeh Osei Bonsu – born in February 2010

Miss. Marie Maa Serwaa Kuffuor – born in November 2010

3b0fa52ea2c76ac4f9e228a8a67bd728Miss. Nichole Nhyira Donkor – born in April 2011

Miss. Mayeda Abdul-Moomin – born in September 2014

Master. Remi Kekeli Dickson – born in March 2015

Miss. Kayla Afia Konadwoa Amoasah – born in March 2016

Miss. Mona Abdul-Moomin – born in July 2016

0a1e06ee10d52e3f07e88e73ea4dc712

Being asked to be a God Parent is a great honour.

It is said that a God Parent tends to be an individual chosen by the parents of the child to take an interest in the child’s upbringing and personal development, and to take care of the child should anything happen to the parents.

A God Parent is to encourage their God Child to grow in faith and commit to helping the God Child understand how to live their life in a Christian way.

A God Parent prays for the God Child through the ups and downs of their life and their faith journey.

6db1d2c12a66c5eb4c9e357ce9703bf8

Help me oh Lord, to be a good God Mother to my God Children…………. Amen.

Nevaeh and Remi 

Nichole

DSC_1508

Aaliyah And Amirah

Wednesday 7th September 2016

We can speak in tongues and miss heaven.  We can “win souls” and miss heaven.

We can see vision and miss heaven.  We can cast out evil and miss heaven.

We can perform miracles and still miss heaven.  We can read the whole bible and miss heaven.

We can attend all fellowship activities and camp meetings and miss heaven.

We can have anointing and miss heaven.  We can have all spiritual gifts and miss heaven.

We can wield power and auction and still miss heaven.  We can have a powerful voice to sing praises and miss heaven.

BUT WE CANNOT LIVE A HOLY LIFE AND MISS HEAVEN.

GOD MY REDEEMER 

Your eye is on the sparrow, and Your hand, it comforts me.
From the ends of the Earth to the depth of my heart, let Your mercy and strength be seen.

You call me to Your purpose as angels understand, for Your glory, may You draw all men as Your love and grace demand,

And “I Will Run To You”, to Your words of truth.

Not by might, not by power, but by the Spirit of God.  Yes, I will run the race till I see Your face.  Oh let me live in the glory of Your grace.

photosep04_103121pm_thumb_e892b1d0905a9e6ce4c92311d13ed631On Friday 2nd September, 2016, one of my close friends was found dead in his bathroom.  That was a very dark black friday for me.  Abdul Baki Adamu Iddrisu my very troublesome but caring friend.  My heart ached for days, I couldn’t speak without crying, I couldn’t close my eyes without thoughts of him, I couldn’t look at my phone without hoping to see him typing a message to me or calling me.  Many fond memories he has left me with.  We had many fights but we had many more happy moments.  Baki aka D Black as I called him, I will forever hold on to the friendship we shared even though it was short.  Tuesday 11th November 2014, the first day we met in person.  Monday 29th August 2016, the last time I saw you in person.  The pain you left me with I won’t wish for anyone.  Talking about you doesn’t make it any easier.  Just know that I treasured our friendship. I loved how much you thought the world of me in your own way.  You were so protective of me and wouldn’t hide it even when you wanted to act all hard! LOL.  Baki, your parting from me has reminded me of our true purpose.  RIP my darling…..My Hausa friend LOL (I hear you laughing at that).  Your big head LOL.  I miss your big head and wide smile.  Its amazing how admist the tears, you still manage to make me laugh.  My friend, better be a Scrabble master in heaven.  Show them who is boss!” (17th June 1987 – 2nd September 2016).

OUR TRUE PURPOSE

It took death to wake me up.  I got so confused I went back knocking on God’s door.  God reminded me that I was beginning to go astray but He will redeem me.  I am thankful for His love for me.  God loves me, that I know.  He has given me many 2nd chances but this time, I am grown enough to know that I can’t keep taking them for granted.  A note for my Jar Of Blessings.  “God loves me, He has redeemed me and wants me to simply live a holy life with purpose so I don’t miss heaven.” – Our true purpose.

 

Monday 24th April 2017

Once upon a time, I met a gentle soul. 16 Years later, I bid her farewell.

Veronica Kuukua Atta-Fynn 

(Died on 29th March 2017)

One who has unreliable friends soon comes to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother. Proverbs 18:24 NIV Kuukua-6

We all met in September 2001 at Coventry University, UK. Naturally, the African girls in the class, from our various paths met on this road, grouped up and stuck together. After 3 years in University, the friendships lived on even though we all went our separate ways. “Vees”, is what we called ourselves. Kuukua was the most quiet amongst us. I laugh when I say quiet because as much as she was the most quiet, her presence was always felt. She often made the funniest comments in the quietness of her voice. Oh Kuukua! We lived in the same house during our second year of University. After class, she would make Priscilla and I Rice with Tuna and Egg Stew.   She would soon disappear into her bedroom but we were a beautiful torn in her flesh. We didn’t give her peace! We would call her back to chat the evening away, procrastinating on doing our assignments, which were most likely due in a few days. She would often just quietly listen and even then Priscilla would have asked a few times, “Kuukua are you listening?” and she would say “Yeaaaah” and giggle. When we were done talking, she won’t say anything immediately but in the silence moments later, she would have the funniest come back and would get us back into loud laughter. Oh Kuukua! Then came the nights before our assignment deadlines. Not sure why we always thought we could do what we should have done in 1 month in 1 night. But Kuukua, you are the oldest, the wisest, why did you let us go through all that stress? Ha ha ha. We must have loved the pressure I guess. We would stay up all night working and often ask each other shouting through the British walls how many words have you typed so far? Kuukua have you almost finished? We have 3 hours oh! She would ignore me. That’s when I knew she wasn’t any where close to finishing. If she did respond, it would be “ooohhhh Debbie! Ah!” The pressure was intense. For a quiet person, she sure did love to have fun. She was at all our get togethers. Sometimes she would dance; sometimes she would just sit and cheer us on. I always enjoyed relationship talks with her. As I write this Kuukua, as much as my heart is heavy, I keep smiling at the thoughts of all the great times we spent together. The last time I saw you was on 21st February 2015 and you promised me that next time you come to Ghana, you would call me so we hang out. But you broke that promise Kuukua!

Kuukua-22“29th March 2017, 8:21 am – It’s with deep regret that I write to inform you that our sister Kuukua has transitioned into glory”. Shocked! Shattered! Angry! Confused! Is how you made me feel. I have spent a lot of time thinking about you and I just cant wrap my head around it. Our journey together wasn’t supposed to be this short!

Debbie: How old are you now?

Kuukua: I am old paaa

Debbie: You don’t look it

Kuukua: Every one says that but my body tells me otherwise ha ha ha

Debbie: LOL! Feeling old and wrinkled? Or crackling bones?

Kuukua: LOL, Crackling bones

From crackling bones we should have moved on to a head full of grey hairs, walking into our grandchildren’s weddings with our walking sticks giving orders of how things should be done differently.

We lived a friendship together where we found a way to add humour to life’s challenges. Even in this challenging moment, I smile with thoughts of how you would laugh your sadness away, smile through pain and give the cheekiest yet most honest opinions on situations, push your spectacles up your nose, lick your lower lip, smile and walk away hurryingly. You had very short but really quick steps. Kuukua, I miss you. May your soul rest in peace my friend. I love you.

Debbie (Debra-Jane Nelson)

Kuukua-21

Dear Kuks,

Writing this tribute is extremely difficult, as I still cannot believe that you are gone and writing this is actually confirming that you have truly gone. I keep trying to think that perhaps if we had communicated or seen each other more times that things might have turned out differently, but in the end I know it’s just a hopeful thought. Kuks, I will really miss you. I will miss your honesty, sincerity, gentleness, charm, respectfulness, your silent persona, your smile, your uniqueness and everything about you. I just smile when I think of our time spent together at University. All the beautiful memories you have left me with. I am truly grateful to God for your life and having brought you into mine.

Remember during our final year when we were advised to take Pro Plus Tablet with Red Bull in order to stay awake to do our usual last minute dot com on assignments. We took it and it didn’t have any effect on us because we were so tired and all we did was sleep like babies. I remember our talks about everything and the panic of exams; I can picture your face now. I would always say, Kuks you will be fine, you have learnt so you will be fine.

Remember the rides in Debbie’s red Golf?

Remember living with Rupa and Dina in third year and how we had to get used to their incense smell that came from their room?

Remember the notes we passed around during lectures just to organize where to go and eat after class?

Remember the late nights in the 24 hour study rooms?

Remember my “send it to me and let me modify it” phrase?

Remember all the dramas from our V’s…. gosh! The thought. God really kept us.

So many memories. Thank you for the memories, university wouldn’t have been the same without.

My dearest Kuks, my friend, and my sister I LOVE YOU and pray that your soul is at rest now.

Love,

Pee (Priscilla Ewusi-Essel)

Kuukua-14

Words fail me writing this. My few encounters with you were always joyful ones as we were always so glad to meet again and talk about that we’ve been up to. The last time I saw you (at Priscilla’s son’s first birthday party), you met my kids and they wondered why they hadn’t met all of these lovely women whom mummy knew. Now looking back I wish I had let them spend more time with you and the rest of the ladies.

Sister Kuukua as myself and my hubby (Kofi Boateng) fondly call you…’due ni amanihu’…if only we knew you were sick…oh oh oh. Fare thee well my beloved Sister. Till we meet again. We will never forget you.

THE LORD IS OUR COMFORT.

Much love

Ann (Anna Boateng)

Kuukua-4

 Adieu dear Kuukua, gone far too young. It is with great sadness that I have to write this, I am still shocked by the news that you have gone to be with the Lord.

We shared many fond memories at Coventry University. You were always the quiet sensible one. Whenever we were misbehaving in lectures, you kept your cool and never let us distract you. So mature, you used to give us advice like the big sister that you were. You were highly respected and it was a pleasure to know you.  Sleep well dear Kukua, I know the Angels in Heaven have welcomed you well. You will be missed here but I know that you have gone to a better place. Keep on smiling, as you will never be forgotten here.

IJ (Ijeoma Egbe)

Kuukua-19

Kukua, Kuks, Veroniks were the fond names I had for you back in University. You had this self-assurance I came to admire and respect. Nothing moved Kukua to panic mode.   Even after University we would meet up several times in East London to either catch up on old times or job hunt.  When I moved back home she kept in touch with me, she checked on me from time to time. To say, I am shocked and saddened at her sudden demise does not do justice. Kukua, you had your life ahead of you. I only wish you waited to live it.

You have left the pain and heartache of this world. I pray you find rest at the bosom of the Lord God almighty and I pray he gives your family the strength to bear your loss.

Thank you and Good night Veronica.

Bukkie (Bukola Folashakin)

Kuukua-7

It is with great sadness that I write this unimaginable tribute for Kuukua. I was fortunate enough to meet her whilst at University, in 2001 to be exact, and I just remember her being a very warm and approachable person. Out of the whole group of us, she was always the voice of reasoning and the person we would go to for constructive advice. I am confident that she now resides with our Lord God Almighty and just pray to God that He heals and comforts all the loved ones she has left behind. Till we meet again Kuukua, sleep and rest well.

Erin (Erin Omosona)

 

Kuukua-11

Veronica!!! As I mostly referred to her as, it’s really sad to hear of your passing. Although I haven’t seen you much since Coventry, except that time we all hung out when Bukkie was leaving for Nigeria, we kept in touch from time to time on Facebook or in the group chat. I really wish I called you more or even visited whenever I ever I came in to London.

Kuukua was someone who never bothered anyone and she just went about her business as peacefully as possible. She was like our big sister I suppose. We called ourselves the Vees and it’s really sad to see one of the Vees depart this world. She was quiet but I knew she had a lot more to say.

She has gone to be with her maker and left this cruel world of sickness and pain. Rest In Peace dear Vee Sister! You will surely be missed.

Kemi (Kemi Osikoya)

 

Copyright THINK | MAHOGANY 
All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this blog, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from Think | Mahogany

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Amirah Iman Anwar April 13, 2017 — 9:37 am

    Go Debra Jane !

    Like

Leave a Reply

